Beef on Weck

Beef on Weck is a regional delicacy hailing from beautiful Buffalo, NY.  Buffalo, NY, is rust-belt town notable for many things: hot-wings, proximity to Niagara Falls (and consequently, Canada), a football team, SUNY Buffalo, and extremely inclement weather.  In fact, the coldest her eminence has ever been was in Buffalo, NY, because she had the incredible wisdom and foresight to visit in Winter.  SO COLD, Y’ALL.  Jeez. 

Yet Buffalo is a place that I hold in high regard despite having only personally been there one time and despite nearly losing my toes as a result.  My parents both attended SUNY Buffalo (where my mom majored in Anthropology and my dad majored in, I don’t know, pot-smoking?).  Anyway, both of her eminence’s parents speak of Buffalo with great affection.  

Beef on Weck is a roast beef sandwich served on a Kummelweck roll (some spell it Kimmelweck, both appear to be acceptable).  A kummelweck is a kaiser roll coated with kosher salt and caraway seeds.  Her eminence has a love/hate relationship with caraway seeds in that I hated them intensely as a child and now sort of love them.  (#sorrynotsorry for the third-person/first-person changes…this is my blog and I will mess with the conventions of grammar if I want to). 

Preparation:

Big ups to the vicomtesse and her hub, the viscount, for making these sandwiches.  She followed this recipe for recreating kummelweck rolls:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/roast-beef-on-weck-recipe/index.html

They came out pretty good!:

Image

 

The vicomtesse also roasted a London Broil cut of beef.  She will post her specific preparation instructions in the comments.  Here’s how it looked:

 

Then we took the toasty rolls and the hot beef (ew) and combined them with horseradish sauce.  The vicomtesse, who cares deeply about such things, was concerned that the sauce contained too many food additives.  I cared not as I lovingly and frequently stuff poisons in my body, but I appreciate the vicomtesse’s attention to detail in this regard.  

Voila!:

Predictions/Impressions:

I was pretty excited for this one because upstate New Yorkers do not mess around when it comes to regional delights.  Also, as I had re-discovered last week with the transcendent Bauru, I really, really dig roast beef sandwiches.  The vicomtesse was more reserved, and thought the sandwich would be merely good.  

The vicomtesse was pleasantly surprised and thought the sandwich exceeded her expectations.  It was indeed very tasty.  The hot beef (ew) had a nice flavor despite being a cheaper cut.  The toasty rolls were delightful.  I also now am a big fan of the caraway and salt mixture, which I believe can been incorporated into many things.  I even sprinkled some of the extra we had directly on the meat.  

Horseradish sauce was very necessary as the sandwich tended toward dryness.  We had reserved some of the au jus from the beef and sprinkling some of that over the sandwich also helped.  

All in all, a worthy sandwich that would (and did) make a nice weeknight meal.  

Do you immediately want another of this sandwich?

Yes, from all parties. 

4 thoughts on “Beef on Weck

  1. hey! here’s how to make the beef! I was going to buy sirloin tip but it was pretty expensive and really really thick (like a 4 inch thick round log o’ steak) and would have taken longer to cook than I was interested in spending. so I bought london broil, which was about an inch and a quarter thick, rubbed a bunch of kosher salt into it, and let it sit for an hour. the salt doesn’t really add much sodium, it just draws water out of the meat and tenderizes the proteins, loosens ’em up a bit so you can’t quite tell you’re eating extremely cheap steak. after an hourish, pat the meat completely dry with a clean towel. you don’t want the salt water to be involved in the cooking, unless you like steamed or boiled steak, so dry it all up. I don’t really want to know you if you want to boil your steak.

    then I seared it on either side, I should have done a hotter sear, like really hot for twenty seconds, but instead I just sorta cooked the outsides. I can’t wait to do better next time. searing meat pre-oven is the best.

    then I threw it in a glash dish with a skosh of butter (unsalted, like half a tablespoon) in the bottom so it wouldn’t fuse forevermore with the bottom of the dish, sealed it, ish, with foil, then I cooked it for a lil too long, I should have gotten the thermometer in there way sooner than I did. 145 degrees internal temperature for rare, y’all! I was up to like 180 :/

    but it was still very good. think of how much better it could have been! answer: even better!

    then I let the meat rest with some foil smooshed and “sealed” over it while sitting on a meat cutting board (you know the kind, with the runner around the edge to catch juices) for about 20m. it was during this time that we prepared the mock-weck!

    the final touch I put on the beef was to experiment to try to find the grain of the meat. I sliced one thin piece off in one direction and it felt very smooth, then I tried a different direction and it was difficult to cut through. I asked Her Eminence to sample both, and one was the very clear winner, while they other was VERY tough, so I cut the rest in the more tender slice’s favor. I don’t know how to explain it but you can sorta tell how to cut with the grain if you look carefully at it. if you can’t tell, experiment with different slices.

    I cannot WAIT to make this again, and I am also really excited to experiment with making really cheap steaks yummy!

  2. Good job but I seem to remember gravy being part of the experience. But maybe I’m just remembering the French fries and gravy that accompanied nearly every meal in Buffalo in those days.

  3. V: You didn’t like using jarred horseradish. Why not make your own? A little horseradish root is cheay-cheap, and then just whip up some mayo to mix it into. Super easy and delicious.

    1. that is definitely what I want to do next! all the same, I was surprised and irritated that my local organic grocery didn’t have ANY kind of reasonable horseradish sauce. next time! I believe my grocery store has horseradish root at any given point.

Leave a Reply

